The Nyack Library Minutes of the Annual Meeting January 10, 2022

Present:

E. Michael Growney, **President**Ellyse Berg, **Vice-President**Brian Murrell, **Treasurer**Steven Cea
Tracy Dressner
Wayne Henry
Tamara Jhashi
Michael Penn
Roger Seiler
Bebb Wheeler Stone
Valerie Williams-Sanchez

Absent:

Peter Danish

*=Excused

Staff:

Angela Strong, Library Director Sharon Alfano, Business Manager Minerva Parker, Board Clerk

1. Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order, Monday January 10, 2022 at 7:05 p.m. by Board President, Mr. Michael Growney.

2. Agenda Approval:

Upon motion by Mr. Seiler, seconded by Ms. Berg it was resolved to approve the agenda for the January 10, 2022 Annual Meeting. The yes vote was unanimous, 9-0.

3. Review of the Minutes:

Upon motion by Mr. Seiler, seconded by Mr. Murrell, it was resolved to approve the Minutes of the Annual Meeting January 11, 2021. The yes vote was 9-0.

The polls were opened at 11:00 am and closed at 7:00 pm by Minerva Parker, Board Clerk.

4. Appointment of Tellers & Report of Board Vote:

The Board appointed Wayne Henry, Sharon Alfano and Minerva Parker, as tellers to record the vote count.

Mr. Growney reported the results of the election count as follows:

* Steven Cea	155 votes
* Tamara Jhashi	146 votes
*Tracy Dressner	141 votes
E. Michael Growney	39 votes

The results of the count were accepted. *Trustees are elected to three-year terms ending January 2025.

Mr. Growney welcomed two new board members, Tracy Dressner and Steve Cea as they joined the board at the table.

Dr. Jhashi welcomed the new board members and expressed her disappointment in the vote. Dr. Jhashi supports all the years of work Mr. Growney has done for the Library and she will resign her seat to allow him to stay on the Library Board. Dr. Jhashi enjoyed serving on the Library Board for the last three years. The Board discussed this decision in great detail.

Upon motion by Mr. Seiler, seconded by Dr. Stone to appoint E. Michael Growney to fill the seat vacated by Dr. Jhashi. The Board discussed the motion. There were 7 yes votes, 1 no and 1 abstention.

Mr. Cea asked for clarification on the resignation process.

Upon motion by Dr. Stone, seconded by Mr. Growney, the Board of Trustees recognizes the significant contributions of Trustee Debra Karten, who served on the Board from July 2002-December 2021 and served as Secretary since 2012 and Trustee Tamara Jhashi, who served on the Board from December 2018-January 2022 and chaired the Policy & Long-Range Planning and Personnel Committees.

5. Election of Board Officers:

After the results of a secret ballot the following Trustees were elected to Board Officer positions:

*Michael Growney, President	8 votes
*Ellyse Okin Berg, Vice President	8 votes
*Brian Murrell, Treasurer	10 votes
*Wayne Henry, Secretary	3 votes
Valerie Williams-Sanchez, Secretary	3 votes

The results of the count were accepted. *Trustees were elected as Board Officers for a term of one year ending January 2023.

6. Old Business:

None.

7. New Business:

None.

8. Adjournment:

Upon motion by Dr. Stone, seconded by Mr. Murrell, it was resolved to adjourn the Annual Meeting at 9:05 p.m., the Board unanimously approved, 10-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Minerva Parker

Board Clerk