# The Nyack Library Minutes of the Annual Board of Trustees Meeting Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Present: Absent:

Steve Cea, President
Tracy Dressner, 1st Vice President
Jeremiah Conway, 2nd Vice President
Brian Murrell, Treasurer
Daniel Wolff, Secretary
Diane Christian
Tamara Jhashi
Leslie Kirsch
Moriah Olsen
Kara Sheridan
Melissa Sullivan

\*=Excused

### **Staff:**

Eric McCarthy, Library Director Keryn Waltzer, Business Manager Minerva Parker, Board Clerk

# 1. Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order, Tuesday, February 20, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. by Board President, Mr. Steve Cea.

# 2. Agenda Approval:

**Upon motion** by Ms. Dressner, seconded by Ms. Christian it was resolved to approve the agenda for the February 20, 2024 Annual Meeting. The yes vote was, 11-0.

### 3. Review of the Minutes:

Mr. Cea explained that the first component of the Annual Meeting is to approve the Annual Minutes. Last year a change was made to approve the Annual Minutes of February 21,

2023, during the March 2023 Board Meeting, because of the potential for changes in Trustees throughout the year.

The polls were opened at 10:00 am and closed at 8:00 pm by Minerva Parker, Board Clerk.

# 4. Tellers of the Board Vote:

Sharon Aperto, Emily Feiner, Chris Blair and Eleanor Schuster were selected as tellers to record the vote count.

# Mr. Cea reported the results of the election count as follows:

Christopher Carroll	39 votes
Vishal Greenaway	62 votes
Leslie Kirsch	140 votes*
Brian Murrell	152 votes*
Michael Penn	54 votes
Kara Sheridan	118 votes*
Melissa Sullivan	93 votes*
Elena Vranich	18 votes
Amy Wochos	33 votes

The results of the count were accepted. \*Trustees are elected to three-year terms ending February 2027.

# Mr. Cea reported the results of the Budget Vote as follows:

Nyack	218	Yes votes
	15	No votes
Valley Cottage	70	Yes votes
	30	No votes
Combined totals	288	Yes votes
	45	No votes

Thank you to all who came out to vote on a very snowy day.

### 5. Election of Board Officers:

After the results of a secret ballot the following Trustees were elected to Board Officer positions:

*Steven Cea, <b>President</b>	11 votes
*Tracy Dressner, 1st Vice President	11 votes
*Jeremiah Conway, 2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President	11 votes
*Brian Murrell, <b>Treasurer</b>	11 votes
*Daniel Wolff, Secretary	11 votes

The results of the count were accepted. \*Trustees were elected as Board Officers for a term of one year ending February 2025.

# 6. Old Business:

None.

### 7. New Business:

None.

# 8. Adjournment:

**Upon motion** by Mr. Conway, seconded by Ms. Christian, it was resolved to adjourn the Annual Meeting at 7:09 p.m., the Board unanimously approved, 11-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Minerva Parker

**Board Clerk**