The Nyack Library

59 South Broadway, Nyack NY 10960
(845) 358-3370
fax (845) 358-6429

Databases

To use library databases when not in the library you will be required to login with the barcode on the back of your Nyack Library Card.

GENERAL RESOURCES

LearningExpress Library

Practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
ProQuest Magazines and Newspapers

Abstracts and full-text articles from many magazines and newspapers. Includes ABI/INFORM GLOBAL, American Medical Association, PA Research II Newspapers/Periodicals/Peer Reviewed, 27 National Newspapers (including the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal), and Barron's.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Classical.com

The world's first streaming classical music service for libraries that enables listening and learning at library and home computers.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Smithsonian Global Sound

Includes the published recordings owned by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
African American Song

The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
American Song

Includes music that relates to almost every walk of American life, every ethnic group, and every time period.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Contemporary World Music

Contemporary reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres. Traditional music such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Grolier Online

Includes access to the Encyclopedia Americana, New Book of Knowledge and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia as well as Roget's II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition.

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica's Internet Guide, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

View Resource

Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
EBSCO Masterfile Premiere

Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.

View Resource

Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
Biography Resource Center

A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

View Resource

Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
Gale Virtual Reference Library

This is the Nyack Library's ebook reference collection from Gale Cengage Learning. The titles are cross-searchable and available 24/7 in the library or via remote access with barcode authentication. Users can print, email, or download documents.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Gale Expanded Academic ASAP

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

View Resource

Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
DOAJ

Directory of Open Access Journals - Full-Text access to scholarly journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.

View Resource

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.

View Resource

ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
BEST ONLINE REFERENCE SITES

A web guide to 500 of the best free web sites for answering common questions. [Note: access to these sites may be restricted on PCs within a library dedicated to the library catalog.]

View Resource

Compiled by librarians in the Ramapo Catskill Library System

NEWS RESOURCES

Journal News via Proquest

This database contains article from the Journal News from 2007 - current.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Custom Newspaper Index

Full-text of more than 100 major newspapers (including The New York Times, Financial Times, Dallas Morning News, The Times (London), Boston Herald, Korea Times, Irish Times, Denver Post, and more.

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
New York State Newspapers

Full-text of 7 New York state newspapers: Buffalo News, Syracuse Herald American, Syracuse Herald-Journal, Syracuse Post-Standard, New York Observer, New York Post, and New York Times (2000-present).

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
National Newspaper Index

Provides indexing of America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post; 1997-present

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.

LITERATURE RESOURCES

Twayne's Authors

Features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors -- each of which were carefully coordinated with input from librarians and educators to include authors universally studied in high schools and colleges.

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
Gale Literature Resource Center

Critical essays on contemporary authors; lives and careers of authors of all eras and genres; biographies and bibliographies on more than 90,000 contemporary authors.

View Resource

Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).

SCIENCE & HEALTH RESOURCES

LearningExpress Library

Practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Health & Wellness Resource Center

Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Pubddc Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
Medline Plus

Information on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also ddsts of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and ddnks to thousands of cddnical trials.

View Resource

Funded by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed Central

National Library of Medicine's digital archive of ddfe sciences ddterature (for medical and health services professionals).

View Resource

Funded by the National Library of Medicine.

BUSINESS RESOURCES

LearningExpress Library

Practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Gale Business and Company Resource Center

Info on 448,000 US and international companies: histories; chronologies; rankings; statistics; and more.

View Resource

Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.

HISTORY AND GENEALOGY RESOURCES

HRVH Historical Newspapers

The vision for HRVH Historical Newspapers is to provide access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. As a first step toward this vision, The Kingston Daily Freeman has been completely digitized for the years 1903 to 1912. The entire contents of the newspaper issues can be searched and browsed in HRVH Historical newspapers.

View Resource

Funded by SENYLRC.
Rockland County Messenger

Search the online archives of the Rockland County Messenger, published weekly from Haverstraw from 1847-1898.

View Resource

Funded by the New City Library.
Hudson River Valley Heritage

HRVH provides access to historical materials from digital collections contributed by colleges, libraries, archives, historical societies, museums and cultural organizations from the following counties in New York State: Columbia, Greene, Dutchess, Ulster, Sullivan, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Westchester. Search the entire collection at the link above or just the Nyack Library collection at http://www.hrvh.org/nyacklibrary

View Resource

Funded by SENYLRC.
Salem History's Milestone Documents in American History

Milestone Documents in American History combines 134 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary. The Nyack Library also has the print version in our reference collection. Call # 973 MIL (Use your barcode for remote access and click home to search while in the library)

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
HeritageQuest

Represents the most comprehensive collection of genealogical information available anywhere.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Biography Resource Center

A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

View Resource

Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
Annals of American History

With over 2,000 primary source documents and 700 pieces of multimedia, Annals of American History is an excellent resource for expanding your understanding of the history and culture of the United States.

View Resource

Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.

RESOURCES FOR STUDENTS

PrepMe Customized Online SAT Preparation

The PrepMe SAT preparation course offers 40+ hours of instructional content, practice quizzes, and full length tests. PrepMe's online system will automatically identify your strengths and weaknesses and create a customized week-by-week schedule for you to help you raise your score.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
LearningExpress Library

Practice exams, based on official tests, that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
Britannica Kids

Searchable full-text of the American Civil War Reference Library, American Revolution Reference Library, History Behind the Headlines, and Major Acts of Congress.

View Resource

Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
EBSCO Middle Search

Provides full text for over 100 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students.

View Resource

Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
EBSCO Middle Search via Searchasaurus

The same database as above, presented through a colorful, easy-to-use interface.

View Resource

Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
EBSCO Kids Search

A search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students according to their needs and search abilities.

View Resource

Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
Biography Resource Center

A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

View Resource

Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).

LANGUAGE LEARNING

Byki Language Learning

Learn over 70 languages online with our new Byki language learning database Patrons must come to the reference desk to sign up for their initial account username and password, but once you have an account you can access it from anywhere at this address:

http://www.library.transparent.com/nyackny/flashcards/login?continue=/nyackny/flashcards/

For more information call 358-3370 ext. 14 or 15 or email reference@nyacklibrary.org

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.
BBC Languages

This free site provides beginning and advanced courses in French, Spanish, German, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, and Greek. The site includes "Quick Fix" MP3 easy phrases for download, links to news in 33 languages, a BBC Languages newsletter, and the opportunity to learn international slang.

View Resource

Funded by the Nyack Library.